Skip to content

Faith

November 19, 2011

One thing that has been pressing on my heart is the concept of faith.  My fear is that this might shake the foundations of faith for some.  My family has been through a lot from Kyle to my Dad, issues recently with my Grandpa, the list keeps going, my buddy Brad, my Dad’s best friend Mike, to my Grandpa Les, I can keep going.  And now this – brain tumor.  Yes it does seem like a little bit of a pile on. But Faith is not the concept that if you trust in God everything will turn out just as you have hoped.  It is just the fact that everything will be OK and will work out according to His plan.  This can be seen by all the love and support that is being shown.  Without faith that would not be there.

In 1998 I got a call from Andy.  He told me he was taking me to the mountains to go on a group lead trip into the mountains called Beyond Malibu.  That trip changed me.  On the mountain I saw miracles, heard from God and grew up a lot.  What I learned was I need to get out of the drivers seat and be a passenger.  I am not capable behind the wheel.  I also learned that my Dad was going to die of cancer, but that is Ok – that is the plan. I learned that he had taught me everything that I need to know.  What I didn’t know at the time was that one of my final and most important lessons was to have faith, to believe in the unseen.  To believe that Jesus rose again.

I went to the mountain to learn how to live in the valleys.  I still do that all the time – head to the mountains to listen, to hear to learn how to live down below.

Even with that, it took eleven years after that trip for me to finally be baptised in the Snoqualmie River.  Its not easy.  In times like this  – yes it can be hard to keep the faith.  I still struggle daily with the final 10% – the last things in my life that God is working on.  The demons in the basement that I don’t want to disturb.   I still make mistakes, have hurt people, I still stumble all the time but I know that I need to keep on fighting the good fight.

When my dad came to Christ  he became a new person, a changed person, a better person.  I know that when I listen, pay attention and follow – I am a better person.

Habakkuk 3:19 says “The Lord will give us hinds feet to reach high places.”   Through faith we can accomplish amazing things, do anything – overcome Goliath.  All we need is faith the size of a mustard seed.

So don’t lose faith, be strong in conviction and prayer.

I am reading a book about how we aren’t given hardships – but we are given opportunities. And to have a truly fulfilled life we need to embrace and roar during those opportunities.   It talks about a guy named Benaiah, whom David put in charge of his personal security.  Benaiah was known for taken out two tough Moabites and for killing a lion in a pit on a snowy day.  It snowed, I am facing Goliath, and honestly sometimes the hospital feels like a pit…sounds like opportunity.

DEH

PS a great book to read is Blue like Jazz by Donald Miller

9 Comments leave one →
  1. Rachelle Wilmot permalink
    November 19, 2011 8:25 am

    Thank you so much for sharing this. Your faith is an inspiration and God is being glorified by your trust in Him in the mist of trial.
    “Those who know your name trust in you, for you, LORD, have never forsaken those who seek you.”-Psalm 9:10
    Our prayers go out to you and your family. Romans 15:13 “May the God of hope fill you with all joy and peace as you trust in him, so that you may overflow with hope by the power of the Holy Spirit.”

  2. Debbi Cleary permalink
    November 19, 2011 9:41 am

    Thank you David for sharing. We are thinking and praying for you a ton. I understand what you mean by hearing from God that everything is going to be okay. I’ve had that experience myself – it is very comforting and indescribable. You are so strong, kind, honest and a great role model. I love how you mention going to the mountain to learn how to live in the valley. Just reading your thoughts helps me analyze my own. If there is anything we can do to help you please let us know. We are so grateful for you – you make the world a much better place. Stay strong :). Thoughts and prayers…

  3. Brian Dickinson permalink
    November 19, 2011 2:16 pm

    David, I’ve heard your story many times throughout the years of climbing together and it always resonates in such an inspiring and hopeful way. I’m sorry I’m on opposite ends of the earth during this important week.  

    Earlier this year you had a calling from God to pray for me for courage and strength when I was in desperate need.  I now return the favor in dedicating this climb to you. Each step higher on the mountain I will remain connected to you through Jesus Christ, praying for your courage, strength and quick healing. You’re a unique friend, who has spiritually impacted my life.  Our bromance is unmeasurable. 

    I look forward to hitting the mountains with you again in the near future!

    Brian

  4. November 19, 2011 3:13 pm

    Praying for you and your family!

  5. mihkai wickline permalink
    November 19, 2011 5:33 pm

    David– You are awesome, thanks for starting a blog with your story. As an Oncology nurse getting the news of your brain tumor, my mind raced to all the possibilities… as your cousin and someone who loves you and your family dearly, my heart ached for the trial that you faced. Then, I heard the Lord say to me, “You do not get to write the end of this story… let ME write the end of this story. I will be glorified.” He also reminded me of His word in John 14:6… “I am the WAY and the TRUTH and the LIFE. No one comes to the Father except through me.”

    David, I have faith, too… that the Lord will bring you through this and we will see the faith of MANY grow through this trial that you are facing with such grace. I am praying for you and await to see the Lord’s hand in all that is to come. I am watching you walk in His WAY and His TRUTH and believe that you have LIFE through Jesus.

    Mihkai

  6. Andrew permalink
    November 19, 2011 6:47 pm

    Dave–

    The way you have handled hardships past and present is an inspiration. From now on I’m just gonna call you Job. If you get boils I will lance them for you.

    –Andy

    PS: LOVE Blue Like Jazz

  7. Amanda Predmore permalink
    November 19, 2011 10:40 pm

    David, thank you for writing this – I’m inspired by your PMA and glad that our Lord and Savior is in your corner. A verse that sustained me during the time when I needed hope in trying for babies was Romans 5:1-5 – it goes…

    Therefore, since we have been justified by faith, we have peace with God through our Lord Jesus Christ. Through him we have also obtained access by faith into this grace in which we stand, and we rejoice in hope of the glory of God. More than that, we rejoice in our sufferings, knowing that suffering produces endurance, and endurance produces character, and character produces hope, and hope does not put us to shame, because God’s love has been poured into our hearts through the Holy Spirit who has been given to us.

    May peace transcend your understanding… we love you and are standing with you in prayer in hope and in friendship!

    Amanda Predmore

    p.s. I’ll tell my friend Don that you like his book, I’m sure that he would love to hear that!

  8. November 21, 2011 8:46 am

    David, I work with Melanie and she told me about you and your diagnosis last week. She sent me the link to your blog so I would know the person I was praying for a little bit better. Habakkuk 3:19 is the verse I was given as a child as the definition of my name – it has been a “stronghold verse” for me ever since, and He has proven it true every single time. I’ll keep praying for you and your family and for strong hinds feet! – Erica Fletcher

  9. ryan schlecht permalink
    November 29, 2011 11:46 am

    David.
    Please know how much we are praying for you and your family. Your faith is in a huge God and so encouraging! My 3 boys are praying for you everyday. I told them about the markings on your head pre surgery and how you looked like darth maul:-)
    Hang in there my friend.

    With much love

    Pastor Ryan

Leave a Reply

